---
title: "Creating & Updating User Roles"
description: "### USER ROLE CREATION 1. Click on the ***Settings*** cog in the upper-right corner of the portal 2. Click on* **Global Settings*** 3. Click on ***Users*** 4. Click on ***Manage User Roles*** 5. Click on *+ **New Role*** to create a new 6. Enter the name for the…"
url: "https://iq4mobility.com/resources/creating-updating-user-roles/"
updated: "2025-08-01"
category: iQ4 Fleet Vista
---

# Creating & Updating User Roles

### USER ROLE CREATION

1. Click on the ***Settings*** cog in the upper-right corner of the portal
2. Click on* **Global Settings***
3. Click on ***Users***
4. Click on ***Manage User Roles***
5. Click on *+ **New Role*** to create a new
6. Enter the name for the User Role in the ***Role Name*** field
7. Under each Permission Setting Section, select the user permissions allows in each role by checking off the boxes
8. When complete, click ***Save Changes***

### USER ROLE MANAGEMENT

1. Click on the ***Settings*** cog in the upper-right corner of the Portal
2. Click on ***Global Settings***
3. Click on ***Users***
4. Click on ***Manage User Roles***
5. Click on the User Role you want to manage
6. Under each Permission Setting Section, select the user permissions allows in each role by checking off the boxes
7. To deactivate a User Role, click ***Deactivate***… on this screen.
8. When complete, click ***Save Changes***.

### APPLYING A USER ROLE TO A USER

1. Click on the ***Settings*** cog in the upper-right corner of the Portal
2. Click on ***Global Settings***
3. Click on ***Users***
4. Find the User you want to modify, and click on their name in the list
5. Scroll down until you see User Roles Currently Applied: Select User Roles
6. Click ***Select User Roles***
7. Check off the applicable user roles, then click ***Apply***
8. Click ***Save Changes*** on the User Profile

### NOTES

If a user has an individual permission given to them outside of the user role, that permission overrides the user role and even if the user role is changed, or removed from the user, the user will still have the individual permissions they were given access to outside of the user role.
